Interceptor
Oct 22 2002, 11:06 AM
Interesting......
"24.92.226.12 is asking for server rights!"
This turns out to be RoadRunner's address. Now why would you think they're asking for server rights on my system? Hmm...maybe I'll ask them.
Interceptor
Oct 22 2002, 12:11 PM
I called and asked why RR was requesting server rights. They explained that they had no documentation about this happening to anyone and had no idea what I was talking about.....duhhhh......
So I just fired off an email to their main headquarters. Maybe somebody there has the technical know-how to give me an answer. It's obvious their phone techs don't.
Mike H
Oct 23 2002, 09:48 AM
Is that your ISP? Do you have any software from them installed?
There are two pieces of software being installed by many broadband ISPs that are not much more than adware and possibly spyware.
Broadjump and support.com.
Raven
Oct 23 2002, 10:04 AM
RoadRunner? Like RoadRunner the record label?!
Interceptor
Oct 23 2002, 10:41 AM
Broadband cable-RoadRunner like the bird and the coyote. A division of Time-Warner Cable.
Interceptor
Nov 14 2002, 03:42 AM
Even tho the email didn't result in an answer, I spoke with their local security manager on the phone because it has happened again. He is very interested why this is happening. In fact, he was unable to track it to the server it came from. I have to remember to send the alert logs to him.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.