jammyk
Jun 18 2008, 10:40 AM
Hi all, I'm not 100% certain this is in the right section, if not then please correct me, but I reckon this is probably under the heading of personal security.
I'm looking to buy a new monitor and the cheapest place i could find it by far is a website called www.lookangoo.com, which looks very good, corporate, well built, etc. I just have a few minor problems with buying from them and I was wondering what other people think (as I'm understandably cautious about giving out my credit card details to a company I don't know) My worries are detailed below:
there doesn't seem to be a single item on the website with any reviews
a couple of typos on the site, including the sign in button for the account section (sing in)
I googled "lookangoo" and got 10 results, I get more than that for me!
I used google maps and looked at the satellite imagery of the area where the head office of lookangoo is supposed to be, and none of the buildings there looked big enough to me.
the monitor I'm looking at is the HP w2207h, which is around about £200 elsewhere, lookangoo are selling it for £118 inc. delivery.
Maybe I'm just being paranoid, but I'm not sure about this site, I'm a believer in "if it looks too good to be true, it probably is", but on the other hand if it is legit then that is one hell of a saving. I was wondering if anyone else has come across this company and if so what do you think? I also think that if it isn't real something needs to be done about it, but i'm not sure what, any ideas?
James
Dino
Jun 18 2008, 11:24 AM
If you’re not comfortable with them, then it’s better to let them go. Good deals can be found all over the Internet, for example newegg.com, but if they’re really cheap then there must be something wrong with them, especially when you can’t find a lot of reviews about them.
jammyk
Jun 19 2008, 02:48 AM
Yeah, I came to that conclusion too, my major concern is that other people will buy from them and have problems. I work in IT and buy a lot of stuff online and I didn't see anything wrong with the website as such, there were just a number of tiny things that quite likely wouldn't be noticed by anyone not paying attention or who don't use the 'net as much as I do. I spend a lot of time each day advising people relatively new to computing and I'm pretty sure 99% of them wouldn't be able to spot a dodgy website. I'm not sure if there's anything I can do to get this site checked out though, or how I'd go about it, any ideas?
James
Platypus
Jun 19 2008, 04:44 AM
http://samspade.org/whois/www.lookangoo.comCreation Date: 03-jun-2008
The IP range is allocated to a hosting service in Malaysia.
You've probably read other people's concerns:
http://www.rpoints.com/bb/viewtopic.php?p=...30c525a7ba1ac94
Angoid
Jun 19 2008, 07:16 AM
Just went to their "Create Account" page, and it collects personal details such as name, address, and telephone number on a page hosted on a non-secure page. Mouse over the "Continue" button and you'll see the next page's URL come up in the status bar ... also a non-secure page
That, to me, says, "Don't touch it with a bargepole"