Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: An E-mail Warning
Suggest A Fix PC Support Forums > Security > Security News and Warnings
LF from MC
If anyone is getting e-mail notifications, and you see this in the body of one of them, delete it, do not open the Attatchment, just to be on the safe side.

We think it's a spoofed e-mail address job.

QUOTE
From: Suggest A Fix PC Support Forums
Date: Saturday, May 21, 2005 8:05:04 AM
To: xxxxxcomcast.net
Subject: Topic Subscription Reply Notification ( From Suggest A Fix PC Support Forums )

 
This message has been processed by BrightmailŪ Anti-Virus using
Symantec's AntiVirus Technology.

top-level-msg was infected with the malicious virus Bloodhound.Exploit.6 and has been deleted because the file cannot be cleaned.


For more information on anti-virus tips and technology, visit
http://www.brightmail.com/antivirus .
Ironbender
Hi LF from MC,

Thanks for warning us... the link at bottom of e-mail reports to a Symantec page which source code contains some strange things, but I'm not sure.

Received no warning alerts or strange cookies from it, but it's not like the original Symantec home page... quite unusual, don't you think ?

Respects and regards,

Chris
LF from MC
You're welcome Ironbender,

I didn't check the link out, I checked out SAF, and I didn't see anyone talking about it, so I thought I would just delete it, and asked the Mods and Admins if they knew anything, and that is what they thought it was.

Lorraine
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.